Food & Drink · Lifestyle

Cranberry Mojito Recipe

Happy New Year everyone!

Cheers to my first post of 2017! At the start of every New Year there always seem to be a mix of emotions- some people feel motivated and some think it is a silly reason to set goals that will never be acheived. I happen to fall on the more optimistic side of that spectrum. I love New Years because whether or not I stick to my goals, I think it is important to take a moment to think about how far you came in the previous year, and plan out where you want to be in the next year. Whether or not you stick to your plan, giving it some thought and being aware of where you are in your life and where you want to be is essential to growing as a person. It’s just a good excuse for a fresh start, and who doesn’t need a fresh start every once in awhile?

That being said, New Years for me always comes with a little bit of sadness because it marks the end of the holiday season. To avoid too much post-holiday depression, I like to find ways to incorporate some fun, wintery things that don’t directly relate to the holiday season.

So, my favorite parts of the holidays (and the ones I always miss the most) and eating and drinking to my heart’s content. Here is a little recipe for a Cranberry Mojito that will brighten the winter blues and take the dullness out of the January winter.

img_4344

Mojitos are my favorite cocktail, and my dad makes a mean one. He taught me some of his secrets over the summer- during the true mojito season. I added a bit of cranberry to his recipe to make this refreshing cocktail a bit more winter appropriate. Get ready to shake, sip and repeat!

Ingredients:

  • Wedge of lime
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar
  • Crushed ice
  • 2 shots of rum (give or take a shot or two)
  • 4-5 mint leaves
  • 8-10 cranberries
  • Club soda

Directions:

  1. Throw the lime, mint, and cranberries into a cocktail shaker and crush them together.
  2. Add a teaspoon of sugar and then about 1/4 cup of ice into the shaker. Pour your rum into the shaker (I usually will pour until it covers the ice).
  3. Cover the shaker and shake it until is is well mixed. Uncover it and pour it all (including the ice!) into a cocktail glass.
  4. Top the glass of with club soda and enjoy!

You can also substitute some cranberry seltzer for the club soda to make the flavor a bit stronger!

My favorite part of this post was that I had a good excuse to drink a mojito on a Tuesday afternoon (judge-free zone, I’m on winter break!). This recipe is super easy to make and SO delicious. Not to mention, it results in an aesthetically pleasing, Instagram-worthy drink. If you use a cute cocktail glass, even better. Pier 1 is my favorite place for barware (among a million other things), they have such simple things with cute details. I got my glasses at Pier 1, and I will link them here! Let me know if you give this recipe a shot, or if you have any other winter drink recipes!

Talk to you soon,

sig 3

 

 

Leave a Reply

