Beauty

Samples- First Impressions

Hi Guys!

It has been a hot minute since I have been able to dedicate any time to my blog. We had family up visiting for the past week and a half and everything was so crazy with school and work I didn’t have time to sit down and write. But I am back, and couldn’t be happier!

I decided to start a new series centered around first impressions of product samples. Some people completely disregard product samples, but I love them! I think they provide a great way to test out some new things and they are perfect to use if you run out of something and need a quick face wash or a spritz of perfume before you are able to get to the store and restock. Because I think they are so useful, and considering the fact that I have a shopping problem, I have an entire drawer full of samples. I figured I could test out a few at a time and let you all know my initial thoughts on the products I test out. So I have 3 mini first impressions to share with you today (spoiler alert: I really like them all).

fullsizerender-1

Skin Inc. Pure Deeps Hydrating Mask

This is an overnight mask that is a clear gel. My beef with overnight masks is that I hate when they get all over your pillow- one of my favorite things about this was that it sank into my skin fairly quickly and it didn’t get everywhere. I would definitely say it is something you could apply to your face right before bed without worrying about it making a mess. When applied, it felt very cooling on my skin (one of my favorite qualities in a product!). I would assume that it was a result of the aloe in it, but I can’t say for sure. The Sephora website says that the product contains Okinawa Deepsea Water and Soya Bean Extract, however the ingredients on the sample don’t list them. The only ‘sea’ like ingredient listed on the sample packaging is algae extract-that was the only thing I was iffy about with this product.

When I woke up in the morning and rinsed it off, my skin felt incredibly hydrated and looked a lot less dull. I really loved it! The full size product is priced at $75, so I may try and find a dupe for it or a similar overnight mask, but my first impression of this guy was really positive!

fullsizerender-6fullsizerender-8

Dr. Dennis Gross Alpha Beta Peel

I tried this out in the morning. The sample had two packets attached to one another (a step 1 & a step 2) and each packet had a little pad inside that had the product already in it. I applied the first step and it did burn a little. Not a painful burn by any means, but a bit of a tingly burn, which I considered a sign it was actually doing something. Then I waited 2 minutes and followed up with the step 2 pad. While I didn’t see any crazy results, afterwards my skin felt softer and it felt so much cleaner. This was my favorite part. This product seems to have a lot of benefits based on the description on the Sephora site. It can be used for anti aging, breakout prone skin, and duller looking skin. While I did like how my skin felt after one use, I would be curious to see how well it works when used repeatedly (my guess is pretty well). 5 treatments go for $16, so I may have to order some more of these and test it out for a week!

fullsizerender-2fullsizerender-4

Peter Thomas Roth Oilless Oil

This one was my favorite of the bunch. The little tube has lasted me 3 weeks so far, and I still have about 1/4 of it left. I have only been able to find it online on Amazon, and I am not sure why but I have been researching and I will update you if I find anything. It caught my attention because I have oily skin so I usually am intrigued by anything oilless, but I like to use lightweight oils on my face at night to restore moisture and try to balance it out. This product uses squalane instead of oils to rehydrate and moisturize skin.

 My skin has looked so nice since I have started using this, and I love the way it feels on my skin! It’s nice to have a product that moisturizes like an oil yet doesn’t leave my skin feeling greasy at night. If you have combo or oily skin this might be great for a nighttime moisturizer!

I will be back soon with some more first impressions! Hopefully the next round is as good as this first one was.

sig 3

 

 

Leave a Reply

