Beauty

Hit & Miss Product Review

So I was going to review each of these products separately, and then I decided to combine the reviews into a collective post featuring both products at once. Since I love one, but I am not too fond of the other, I figured I would try to keep a good balance of the good and the bad with this hit & miss post. I will get the miss out of the way first and end on a high note.

FullSizeRender-2

So the Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal mask was seriously a disappointment for me. I had high hopes since I love the brand (especially the GinZing Energy Boosting moisturizer), and charcoal products tend to work wonders for my combination/oily skin. On the Sephora website, it says that this mask is recommended for all skin types, and it is supposed to help with uneven texture while clarifying and removing toxins and other junk in your pores. I was especially surprised to see that this mask is the number one selling mask in America (you can find all of this info here).

I have been using this mask for about 2 months now and no matter how hard I try, or which way I apply it, I can’t seem to find anything great that it seems to be doing for my skin. I started using it at night when I normally do my face masks, and when that failed to impress me I decided to try using it in the morning. Both ways I used it resulted in zero changes in my skin. It doesn’t make my skin feel or look any different. I also like masks that have a nice smell or have a distinct characteristic (like a cooling effect) when you first apply them- this had neither.

Not to mention I have to spend forever at the sink to completely wash it off! I keep using it in hopes that something magical will happen or that it is doing something fancy to my skin that I just can’t see, but next time I am in Sephora I will for sure be grabbing a new mask to replace this guy so let me know if you guys have any mask recommendations!

The real winner in my life right now is the LaVanila The Health Deodorant that I mentioned in my last beauty haul. I told you guys that I was pretty skeptical about it, and this was mostly because it was not labeled as an antiperspirant. This freaked me out a bit because hey, I’m human, I sweat. Honestly, I was so pleasantly surprised by it! While I can tell that this is not mainly an antiperspirant and I do still sweat, I would definitely say do not let this deter you from giving it a shot because it does seem to do some work as an antiperspirant.

The deodorant aspect of this product is by far the best I have ever tried. I’m not trying to give you all the impression that I am a smelly, sweaty beast, but they make deodorant for a reason! I tried the scent Pure Vanilla and I love it- it lasts all day long and is just so lovely and nice.

Another small positive benefit of this product is the feeling it leaves when you apply it. I am not sure what ingredient does this, but it leaves a very cooling feeling, almost like you have applied something minty (it may be the aloe?). Regardless, I am sold on this one. I have the smaller size now (great for travel!), but I can’t wait to get the full size and try other scents. I totally get why so many people are hooked on this as a holy grail product.

So I hope this little ramble about a subpar mask and an awesome deodorant was a bit helpful to you guys if you were looking for any products to try or avoid. As always, leave me any of your favorite products that I have to try down below!

sig 3

4 thoughts on “Hit & Miss Product Review

    1. I agree!! I love their moisturizers and some of their face washes so I was disappointed by this one. I have even tried using it as a spot treatment for blemishes, and I still haven’t noticed it being effective. I am still on the hunt for a new mask to replace it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

