Beauty

Haircare Essentials & Routine

FullSizeRender-4

Haircare is one of my favorite things to test out and talk about. I have a pretty good lineup of ride-or-die products that I have been using for a while now, so I thought I would share them with you guys and tell you a bit about why they are my faves. I have been dyeing/bleaching my hair for almost two years now so if I didn’t take care of it, it would be super dead. I just bleached it again and I am going to make a post on how I do that, so keep an eye out!

FullSizeRender-6

I usually wash my hair every two days, and when I do I use the Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine shampoo and conditioner. The shampoo works well but I wouldn’t say it is anything special. The conditioner is one of the best I have used (including higher end conditioners) and it is really affordable. I usually try to keep the conditioner on the ends of my hair, and run whatever is left on my hands through the roots.

Lately I have been trying out that new trend where you condition your hair first, and then you shampoo after rinsing out the conditioner. Guys, no joke it really does work  incredibly well! My hair is so much softer and feels so lightweight, which I love considering my hair has no volume naturally. I don’t see why you would need a new line of shampoo and conditioner to do this like some brands advertise, so I would recommend giving it a shot with whatever you already use. I will be sticking with my Garnier and this method for a while.

FullSizeRender-1

After I wash my hair, I use these two products. First I use the Chi Silk Infusion oil (about a quarter sized amount) throughout all of my hair, mostly concentrating on the ends. I switch up the oil I use to moisturize my hair pretty regularly, but this one is really good!

After that I use about two pumps of the Paul Mitchell Super Skinny Serum. I have been using this stuff for about 5 years now, and I don’t think I will ever stop. I have tried switch to other products such as the Living Proof 5 in 1 Perfect Hair Day and a drugstore anti frizz serum, but nothing compares. I always end up switching back to this. It makes my hair way less frizzy and helps it to dry with a nice, soft wave. This is my #1 out of this whole list for sure.

FullSizeRender-3

These two products are ones that I don’t use everyday but I reach for whenever I need them and can never be without. The Tresemmé Tres Two Hairspray is my favorite because it doesn’t make my hair feel crunchy, but it holds a curl super well. I really can’t justify any hairsprays with a higher price- definitely give this one a shot if you are looking for a good and affordable hairspray.

The Batiste Dry Shampoo is probably my #2 favorite on the list. It took so long for me to find a good dry shampoo that didn’t feel like it left a weird, sticky residue in my hair. I always felt like other dry shampoos made my hair feel even dirtier than before I used them. This one is so awesome because it soaks up oil really well, but it feels like nothing is there when you touch your hair after spraying it. I have the tropical scent now, and I have tried a bunch of the scents. Next up I want to try their dry shampoo tinted for brunettes. I’ll letcha know when I do.

FullSizeRender-8

The last thing I always have is a hair mask. I left this for the end because like the Chi oil, it is one of the things that I switch up a lot. I have heard really good things about this Redken Extreme Strength Builder Plus mask, but I just got it and I haven’t tried it out yet! Like I mentioned before, I just dyed my hair and it will need a good mask soon, so I will make sure to update you guys once I have tried it a few times.

Let me know what your haircare must-haves are! And check back soon if you want to see how I balayage/ombré my hair.

sig 3

One thought on “Haircare Essentials & Routine

Leave a Reply

