Beauty · DIY

Lemongrass & Brown Sugar Body Scrub DIY

My favorite body scrub of all time was one that I got while I was working at Crabtree & Evelyn when I was in high school. It was from their “Naturals” line and it was called the Botanical Body Scrub in the lemongrass & brown sugar collection. They discontinued the line, and last summer I used the last tub I was able to get me paws on- I was devastated (dramatic, I know). Ever since then I have been trying to recreate it on my own, and I have come pretty close! This DIY scrub has the same delicious scent, but is missing some of the ingredients like Shea butter and almond oil, just because I didn’t have them on hand. Once I do, I will continue to modify it!

I love the idea of making your own body scrubs, because more often than not you already have the best ingredients in your kitchen. And when you make them, you can be sure that there won’t be any harmful ingredients in them.

So here’s what you will need (you can modify any quantities to your preference) :

  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 4-5 tbsp olive oil
  • tiny bit of lemon juice
  • lemon peel
  • 6-7 drops of lemongrass essential oil
  • an empty jar (check out a DIY here!)

I would recommend mixing this in a bowl first, and then transferring it to a jar that you can store it in.

 

First, dump your brown sugar in the bowl. I made enough to fit into a small glass jar, but if you wanted to make a larger quantity you easily could. After this add in the olive oil. You can add as much or as little olive oil as you want depending on how moisturizing you are looking for your scrub to be. I have made some scrubs with a lot of olive oil, but in the summer I don’t need as much. Also, the more you add, the more slippery the floor of your shower will be so watch your step (I have had my fair share of slips). Lastly, keep in mind that the scent of olive oil is pretty strong, so the more you add, the more lemongrass oil you will have to add to get that delicious scent. I started with about 2 tbsp and then add more until I got the consistency I was looking for.

7

After you mix that together really well (notice that the brown sugar will clump a bit- that’s good!), add in your lemon peel and lemon juice. Be really careful with how much lemon juice you add. If you add too much it will basically melt the sugar and turn it into a liquid. I used about 4 or 5 drops. The lemon will add an extra little exfoliant and has a brightening effect on the skin.

8

Lastly, add in the lemongrass oil. This stuff has a ton of great benefits for your skin, but best of all it smell delicious. Stir it all together really well, and then transfer it to the jar you will store it in.

I recommend using this scrub on your skin while it is still dry, and then turning the water on and rinsing off. The olive oil will stay on your skin unless you wash it off, but it acts as a great moisturizer! This is also a really good scrub to keep by your sink and use on your hands (same thing- on dry skin first and then rinse).

The best part about this is that you can tweak it to make it work best for you. If you want a more coarse scrub, add in some sea salt with the brown sugar. Or if you need it to be more mild, try equal parts brown sugar and oats, and maybe add in some more olive oil. Tweak it so it works best for you!

I hope you guys enjoy! Let me know if you try it or if you have any favorite DIY scrubs of your own.

sig 3

 

3 thoughts on “Lemongrass & Brown Sugar Body Scrub DIY

Leave a Reply

