Beauty

A Peek at My Perfume Tray

really like to smell good. I mean, who doesn’t? I think my obsession with scents started when I was working at a Crabtree & Evelyn store back in early high school.Everything in the store smelled so delicious and fresh, and I would leave work everyday smelling like homemade soap. I love the way that a scent can create a story. If you’re anything like me, someone says lavender and my mind wanders to the South of France, sipping a glass of wine, wearing a breezy, white long sleeve maxi dress…Weird, I know, and I guess it’s unlikely that everyone does that. But ever since that job, I have been all about nice skin and smelling really good, because I feel like your scent can create a really personal story.

My perfume collection is somewhat small (I do have a few others that I use that I don’t display on my tray), but that is mostly because I think it is important to have just a few good, signature scents that people associate with you. My mom has worn the same Estée Lauder perfume my entire life, and anytime someone walks past me wearing it, it catches my attention. I just love the idea of have a signature scent.

IMG_3455

I sort of divide my scents into two categories: lighter, softer daytime scents, and sexier, richer scents. I also really like to layer scents together- what better way to create your own signature scent!

Lighter scents:

Light Blue by Dolce & Gabbana: This was one of my first perfumes ever. It has notes of citrus, apple, and bamboo that smell so classically fresh and crisp- it’s a great scent for a sweet summer night. (Side note: Crabtree & Evelyn makes a line of products called La Source that smell & feel fresh like the ocean, and they pair perfectly with this scent!). Let me paint you a little picture here: you spend the day relaxing on the beach and swimming in the ocean, then you head home to take a shower. After your shower, use some of the La Source Body Cream (it is so light and refreshing that it feels cooling on your skin, especially after a day at the beach), thrown on a chambray dress and a pair of lace up espadrilles and then spray on some Light Blue before you head out for a nice al fresco seafood dinner and a glass of white wine. So many combinations of the sea & citrus fruits right there. And there’s a little glimpse inside my crazy mind…

Dolce by Dolce & Gabbana: This scent is the perfect spring time scent- it is very floral with notes of lilies and white flowers. As you can see this one is almost entirely gone, and I am holding on desperately to the last few drops. I think it smells so beautiful, but to be honest I don’t feel like the scent lasts as long on my skin as some of my other perfumes, so I likely wouldn’t purchase it again (I will keep the gorgeous bottle forever, though).

Beach by Bobbi Brown: A cult favorite. Somewhat similar to Light Blue, but completely different at the same time, with notes of jasmine and sea air. I LOVE this scent, and it killed me when I got it for Christmas and then had to wait until the summertime to use it. Personally I feel that when I first spray it, the tops notes are reminiscent of suntan lotion (which I love). But then the base notes settle in to this delicious summer scent that I can’t even describe other than to say that it smells like curling up on the back porch of a beach house with a good book and salt still in your hair (there I go again…).

Richer scents:

Sì by Giorgio Armani: This is a scent that I wear all year round, and the one that I would consider to be my signature scent. This scent is for sure much muskier than the others, and has some more intense floral notes as well as some blackcurrant. It is a little soft and a little sexy, but not in an overpowering or an obnoxious way. I received a gift set that came with the lotion and the travel sized perfume, so I love being able to layer the scents to make them last even longer, and take them with me when I travel.

Fresh Cream lotion by Philosophy: if you haven’t smelled this, you must go find it and smell it immediately. I am not one for super sweet things in general, but this lotion smells like a sweet buttercream frosting and I DIE for it. So if you think you can’t handle it or it probably isn’t for you, give it a shot. When I say this smell will last forever, I mean it. Every time I wear it, I can smell it on me even after I shower and rinse it off. And when you do shower, it’s like the steam from the hot water brings the scent back to life all over again and you’re reminded how delicious it smells. I don’t think I will ever be without this lotion again.

So those are the main players in my perfume collection and I also can’t forget to mention the tray that they are displayed on, because I love it so much. I bought it at Home Goods, but it looks like a tray made from a deep blue sea glass- so pretty! There are a few perfumes I still have my eyes on.  I think I love Gucci’s Guilty but I need to smell it a few more times before I bite the bullet. I would also love to get my paws on a Jo Malone fragrance, but I can’t decide which one. Either way, I will be sure to update you guys as necessary!

sig 3

 

4 thoughts on “A Peek at My Perfume Tray

  1. Love this, my mom used the same one for 20 years probably, she’s changed from Chanel to Calvin Klein now, cause she says the Chanel one now brings bad memories, but I always loved how she smelled the same, I think I found my signature scent about three years ago with Dot by Marc Jacobs, I’m never letting go of it!

    https://shesjustlikeheaven.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

