Beauty

The Best At-Home Mani

Fun fact about me: I hate paying to have my nails done. Pedicures are worth every penny, but manis are a different story in my book. It has always seemed to me that you can get the same results from a manicure at home than you could at the salon. For this reason, I have spent a lot of time finding just the right nails products to make my nails look as good as they could at the salon. This is a little secret that I have kept for the past year or so that I am finally ready to share with the world. I didn’t realize how good my at-home mani routine was until I stopped doing it, and my nails looked like complete crap. Its super basic, and probably only requires adding one step to your current routine. Grab a glass of wine and your favorite polish and let’s get started.

This week I decided to go with Essie’s “Ballet Slippers”- it is my favorite pink nude polish! (the only downside is that it usually requires 3 coats of polish whereas I tend to stick to 2 coats for most other colors). File and prep your nails like you normally would and apply your polish as you normally would. Next step- insert the star of the show into your routine: The Sally Hansen Gel Shine 3D Top Coat. Pause for a quick chat about this guy-

This top coat gives me life. It is so thick and shiny and makes your polish look like you paid for a gel manicure at a salon. Except this guy only costs like $8 or so at the drugstore & comes off easily with regular nail polish remover. Not to mention it last SO long compared to just a regular top coat. What’s the catch, you ask? Because it is so thick and shiny, it takes forever and a day to dry completely. BUT, don’t worry, I have the perfect solution there as well.

Insert hero #2 of the at home mani (one you probably all know and love)- Seche Vite.A lot of salons use this stuff and I have sworn by it for years. It seriously dries in under a minute on its own, and it works the same over the Sally Hansen Gel Top Coat. Plus, it adds another layer of shine and chip protection to your nails.

So, after your color is applied, apply one coat of the Sally Hansen Gel Shine 3D top coat, and then one coat of the Seche Vite on top of that, wait about a minute, and you’re ready to go. This stuff lasts me 7-8 days (not bad for a DIY mani), and if I know I am going somewhere important or somewhere that I am going to be rough on my nails (hello, retail job), then I will touch up with another coat of the Seche Vite throughout the week. I am also hoping to try the Sally Hansen Gel polishes, and see if they are as good as their top coat counterpart. I’ll be sure to update you guys if I do. And make sure to let me know about your nail faves as well!

So that’s all! Do these three steps, wait 60 seconds, and viola– at home gel mani. No light, no destroying your natural nails, and no $35 trip to a salon. Not to mention it can all be done from the comfort of your couch in your PJs with a glass of wine. Thank me later.

One thought on “The Best At-Home Mani

Leave a Reply

