Books · Summer Read Series

Summer Reads: Leaving Time

IMG_3319

HI GUYS.

So I’m back atcha with the third book in my Summer Reads series- Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult. Considering my last read was such a dud, it was so refreshing to read this guy. For awhile I was getting a little sick of reading Jodi Picoult’s books, but this is the first one I have read in awhile, and it did not disappoint.

Jenna Metcalf’s mom disappeared when she was a little girl after an accident in the elephant sanctuary that she worked at that resulted in the trampling death of a coworker. At 13, Jenna makes it her mission to track down her mom (in hopes that she is still alive), and enlists some unusual help to do so. Serenity, a psychic and Virgil Stanhope, a former police detective that worked on Jenna’s mom’s case are the two unlikely characters that remain by Jenna’s side throughout, and they are both equally as likeable and endearing in the way that makes people want to root for the underdogs. In an attempt to avoid all possible spoiler alerts, I will just say, the ending will have you in for a wild ride.

I just loved this book, and I couldn’t stop talking about it while I was reading it. I also was that person that goes to the beach with a bunch of friends and lounged in my beach chair reading my book all afternoon. I literally could not put it down.

Aside from the anticipation of wanting to know if Jenna’s mom was alive and if she ever found her if she was, this book had some really darn likeable characters that kept me interested the entire time. Serenity Jones in particular really got to me. Regardless of any religious beliefs you may have (or if you don’t have any at all), she was spiritual in a way that conveyed a sense of contagious hope. Personally, I have always been one to believe in the supernatural and in spirits, but even if you don’t, there’s an valuable underlying theme of faith and hope reflected in Serenity’s struggle to consistently and accurately connect with those in the afterlife. Side note: Serenity also mentions at one point that the Rainbow Bridge (the place in the afterlife where we can meet up with our pets that we lost during our lifetime) is real. Having lost both of my dogs last year, that line basically sold me on the whole book. It doesn’t even matter that it was just something written by an author for her character to say, it still feels real and justifies hope. And that’s kind of the whole point, right?

Bottom line: buy it, read it, set aside two days to devour it, and hop on the emotional ride. Sooo worth it. Next up, per the suggestion of a fellow blogger I am currently reading Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. Keep an eye out!

Until next time,

-Ariana

2 thoughts on “Summer Reads: Leaving Time

Leave a Reply

