Books · Summer Read Series

Summer Reads: The Vacationers

IMG_3279

HI GUYS.

So as promised, here is the next mini review in my Summer Reads series. Like I mentioned in my last post of the series, I read The Vacationers by Emma Straub. I remember seeing this book on a lot of lists of must-reads, and associating my positive feelings of vacations with this book titled The Vacationers, decided to make it next on my reading list for the summer. Well, let’s just say that this book was reminiscent of a vacation that you really looked forward to, and ended up being incredibly subpar.

The “plot” revolves around a family from New York that is going through a rough patch and decided to take a family vacation to Spain to celebrate their youngest daughter graduating from high school. I really can’t think of anything else to mention that was significant.

If I were keeping things professional, I’d say that the book lacked any substantial plot, and that I found that the characters were not very relatable. But to be brutally honest, this book read like a lame rom-com, without the ‘com’ and with a lot of characters that need to grow up, get their acts together, and whine a lot less. I found my self thinking “oh, would you shut up about it” way too many times wile reading this one. It was hard to connect to any overall theme, and that always tends to be my favorite part of any book (and kind of the whole point of reading it). I get that sometimes you want to read something mindless, especially during the summertime when you’re trying to just relax on the beach with an iced tea. However, I need something that will at least keep my interest, and this just didn’t do it for me.

Instead of rambling on and writing a post even more boring than this book, I’ll cut it short and give you my recommendation: don’t waste your time with this one, guys. Trust me though, the next one is going to be good (I know because I’ve already finished reading it). The next post will be on the novel Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult. Seriously guys, I don’t know what to say other than that one had me feeling some type of way. A good way. Keep an eye out for that one next. And of course, leave me more summer read recommendations in the comments!

Talk to you soon!

Ariana

Leave a Reply

