DIY

DIY: Cleaning Out Candle Jars

HEY THERE.

Can I get a whoop whoop for the first DIY post on my blog?! (You all better have done it…). I am so excited about this because DIYs are some of my favorite things to do. This one is an oldie but a goodie- oldie meaning that I have been doing it for years. Some of you may already be doing this, but for those of you who aren’t, DO IT. It is like the easiest DIY ever, there is a 99.5% chance you already have everything you need, and it is actually useful. I know you guys are sitting here with baited breath waiting to learn what grand piece of knowledge I am going to impart on you today, so here it is:

Let’s clean out your Bath and Body Works candle jars people! (I hope that wasn’t too anticlimactic). I have been doing this for a few years now, and I started before I moved into college freshman year because the jars make such cute and easy storage. I painted them back them, which you can easily do by using paint and baking them in the oven after you clean them out. But now I favor the simple look of the plain jars just cleaned up so that you would never know there was once a delicious smelling candle in them. So here we go-


IMG_3219

STEP 1:

Once your candles have reached the point of no return and can no longer be burned (usually when there is only ½-1 inch of wax left), pop them in the freezer. When the wax freezes, it will contract and pull away from the sides of the glass making it easier for you to break and remove. At a minimum, I would say leave them for a few hours, but the longer the better.

IMG_3218

STEP 2:

Take a butter knife and wedge it into the wax to crack it or break it up so that it falls out of the jar and you can toss it in the trash. If you leave them in the freezer long enough, the wick should come out with the wax. If it stays stuck to the bottom of the jar, let it soak in hot water for a bit to loosen the glue, and then shimmy a knife under the metal part to loosen the glue all the way and pop it out.

IMG_3217IMG_3216

STEP 3:

Remove all the labels. Some peel off easier than others, so if yours is giving you trouble and comes off in shreds leaving a lot still stuck, run it under hot water or rub some olive oil over it and scrape it off with a butter knife or your nails (depending on the status of your manicure at the time).

IMG_3215

STEP 4:

Pour some olive oil onto a paper towel. Run this all over the inside and outside of the jar, using it to clean off all remaining wax, ash, and paper label that is left on the jar.

IMG_3214IMG_3213

STEP 5:

Wash the jar with some good ole soap and water. Dry it off, and viola! Good as new storage that looks cute so many ways.


IMG_3212IMG_3211

Here I showed you a few ways I used the two I cleaned out today- one to hold my toothbrush, and one as kitchen storage for coffee grounds. You might also notice that there is another Bath and Body Works jar on my vanity with Q-Tips and cotton balls. I cleaned this one awhile ago but it is another great example of how you can use them for storage. I have one more that I just popped in the freezer, and that one I am going to use as storage for a DIY body scrub that is my FAVORITE thing ever, so keep an eye out for the DIY post coming next!

I just moved up to my new apartment that is on the third floor of my house. My whole life we have had family up here, but it was currently empty and I am commuting to school next year, so it is all mine now! It is not completely set up how I’d like it, but that means you guys will have a lot of home décor posts and furniture DIY posts coming your way, so stay tuned for those also! Can’t wait to share it all with you!

See ya-

Ariana

One thought on “DIY: Cleaning Out Candle Jars

Leave a Reply

