Books · Summer Read Series

Summer Reads: The Husband’s Secret

Husband's Secret

Hey guys.

So this is the first post in a new series that I decided to start that I am going to call the Summer Reads Series. I started a new internship in Boston this summer, so I have been commuting in on the train. It makes for some long days, but it is the perfect down time to spend reading, something I find it hard to make time for otherwise (it’s soooo hard for me to chose reading over watching Netflix). I also love reading at the beach or by the pool in the summertime, so I thought why not share with you all the books that I have been reading and a little bit about what I thought about them! No worries- I will make sure they are all spoiler alert-free.

I just finished reading The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty. I actually picked it up a while ago during my semester abroad, from a bookstore at the train station in London. I am so indecisive when it comes to choosing a book to read, so luckily my friend was with me and she suggested it. I have been reading it for the past few months since I haven’t had time to really read until I started working, so I was so happy to finally read the ending and get some answers to my lingering questions.

I really liked this book in an it-didn’t-blow-my-mind-but-it-didn’t-suck kind of way. I have a really big appreciation for average things, don’t ask me why, and this book was one of those good-but-not-great books that can sometimes be exactly what you need in a book, at least in my opinion. I love really intense books that are hard to put down, but only when I know I will have a lot of down time to read and will be able to finish it quick. It drives me nuts when a book is all I can think about, but I don’t have the time to read it. So I save those for the end of the summer, after internships but before school starts back up. Books like The Husband’s Secret are perfect for when you are looking for an interesting read that will hold your attention, but isn’t to urgent, if you know what I mean.

So the plot mainly focuses on three women, Cecilia, Tess, and Rachel, and their families,  as well as the different men in their lives (who, based on the descriptions, I pictured as very sexy in my head. Mostly because they were Australian. Duh). As you can probably guess all of their lives impact one another in some way. It also toggles back and forth between the past and the present, but not in an excessive or confusing way. I found the characters really relatable, in their personalities not so much their situations, and their internal dialogue was both entertaining and genuine. Aaaand, I figured out the husband’s secret pretty early on (when it comes to books and movies, I’m pretty good at guessing things before they happen), buuuut there was still another twist I totally did not see coming, so I was J. The end of the book leaves you wondering about some big things too, not necessarily relating to the plot, although there was one thing I was left wondering about a bit, but more so about life and consequences and karma and interconnectedness and what goes around comes around and sacrifice and decisions that have implications way beyond just for the person making them and paying for mistakes and priorities and family and just life man. So yeah. It wasn’t a book that I couldn’t put down, but when I was reading it, I really enjoyed it. If you like books that make you think, and have a little mystery and a bit of a twist, then you will probably really enjoy this one too!

Bottom line- would I recommend? Heck yeah. Would I read more of her books? For sure.

Next up, I have started reading The Vacationers by Emma Straub. I’ll let ya know more about it soon! In the meantime, please please please comment below with any summer read suggestions you have for me- I read all kinds of books! And like I said I am super indecisive when it comes to picking one out, so suggestions always help.

-Ariana

3 thoughts on “Summer Reads: The Husband’s Secret

  1. I loved this book! Did you read My Husband’s Secret? There is a movie coming out for Big Little Lies in 2017 with Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman and Shailene Woodley. Also, Liane Moriarty is coming out with a new book this summer called Truly Madly Guilty. Love your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

