Travels

Study Abroad: The Adventure of a Lifetime

IMG_0159

HEY THERE.

So I have recently returned from a semester studying abroad in Florence, Italy, and my travel hangover is slowly setting in, and I know that greasy food is not the cure this time (although I will probably eat some anyway since I have been eating pasta for 4 month and have missed some all-American grease in my diet). So I decided to try the hair-of-the-dog-that-bit-you method, the one hung-over people use to justify having another drink after a rough night, and talk a bit more about travel. I figured a could do a two-part deal; one post with a little bit about each of the places I traveled to this summer, and then a second post with my travel bucket list inspired by newfound wanderlust (so look out for that next post coming soon!)

So I started out writing this post and figured I would write a bit about each of the places I visited during my time studying abroad, but then I thought- a picture is worth a thousand words, especially when it comes to travel. Not to mention the fact that when I talk about the travelling I did, or when people ask me, “how was your semester abroad?!” there’s no verbal way to accurately convey how incredible the experience really was. “So great,” “it was amazing,” “truly incredible!” What does that even mean? Am I talking about the single most incredible and unique once-in-a-lifetime experience, or a new blockbuster movie that I just saw for the first time? (To be honest, I feel like I haven’t been able to fully wrap my head around it yet. They way I described it while I was there was: “omg I’m blacking out.” It was like my body couldn’t take it all in and I couldn’t wrap my brain around it.) When it comes to words to describe my experience, maybe I just don’t have them or maybe they don’t exist, who knows. But I do know that if I took the time to find the right words to tell you about my time abroad, you guys probably wouldn’t see this post for another few years. So I figured instead I would put together a sort of photo collage of my time spent travelling Europe so you guys can see what I saw. After all, we take pictures of the things we loved the most, the memories we want to remember best, right?

Okay here is the list of countries and cities I travelled to in chronological order-

  • Italy: Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Pisa,the five towns of Cinque Terre, Rome, Lucca, Venice, Sorrento, Positano, and Capri, as well as several areas throughout Tuscany to taste food and wine.
  • Switzerland: Interlaken
  • Belgium: Brussels & Bruges
  • England: London
  • Ireland: Dublin & the Cliffs of Moher
  • France: Paris & Versailles
  • Austria: Vienna
  • Spain: Madrid

I was thinking of doing some mini travel guides for some of the cities I visited with tips and tricks as well as recommendations- let me know if there are any you guys would want to see! Also, if any of you guys have any suggestions for some DIY projects I could try out, I am searching high and low for some cool things to do with all these pictures. Inspire me!!

Now for the fun part.

I hope you all enjoyed a little glimpse of my European Adventure! Check back soon for my travel bucket list post.

Until next time…

 

Leave a Reply

