Uncategorized

What’s This Even About?

IMG_0097.JPGHEY THERE.

So something happened yesterday, something crucial to the creation of this blog (hashtag first post). For the first time ever in my 21 years of living, someone told me I am an old soul (if you’re here at my blog called ‘Old Soul, Young Spirit’ you may see why this is crucial). My roommates and I were each trying to decide the next movie we were going to go watch on Netflix, and amidst all of the comedy and rom-com options being thrown around (don’t get me wrong, I LOVE a good rom-com), I decided it was a Shawshank Redemption kind of night for me. To which my roommate replied, “Aw, what a good one! You have such an old soul.” To which I didn’t know how to respond…

I had always wondered about the concept of an old soul, and wondered if I was indeed an old soul or if I was just a tad bit lame. I mean what kind of 21 year old would rather sit on the couch watching a Fixer Upper marathon on HGTV with a glass of wine than set foot within 100 yards of a club. (Some days I actually find myself believing that Chip and Jo are my friends. One time I actually responded out loud to something Joanna said. Not proud of it, but not not proud of it ya know?) Anyways, I have always kind of felt a bit lame when I am around other people my age because I find myself not understanding things they do, like going to dirty clubs and wasting time hanging out with not nice people, just to name a few. I spent a lot of time doing the exact things I didn’t understand because my friends were doing them and I didn’t want to be the one who always wanted to stay behind. Thank god I got over that.

Now don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I don’t like to do anything. I love to do a lot of things. The more I get to know myself, which I have a done a lot of during my time studying abroad, the more I am able to pinpoint the things I genuinely like, and filter out things I tried to make myself like for the sake of trying to be like other people my age.

I live for sitting on the beach quietly, growing things in a garden makes me feel accomplished, I watch a lot of HGTV, I collect inspirational quotes and pieces of wise advice in my mind, I care about my skin, and I love French press coffee. Old Soul. I get a natural high from being at any country music concert, 2 of my favorite people are Rachel Green and Carrie Bradshaw, margaritas are my friends, I’m an online shopaholic, I’m genuinely proud of my closet and makeup collection, I have a tattoo and am not opposed to getting another, and I have a huge list of places I am itching to travel to. Young Spirit. I like to think I have struck a nice balance between the two.

Life is too short to be doing anything other than the things you really, truly want to be doing. I really wanted to create a space to unload my mind, and I truly want to share with you guys my favorite things to do and see and create. That’s why I built this blog. I can’t wait to start sharing my passions and tidbits of my life with you guys, and if you want to know a few more specifics about me, check out my About Me page. For now I’ll leave you guys with this:

“I guess it comes down to a simple choice, really. Get busy living, or get busy dying.”

–Shawshank Redemption

Until next time,

-Ariana

Leave a Reply

